What Color Is Your Dragon? | Marc Gunn | Celtic Music CD Store
Celtic Music CD Store - Mage Records

Buy Music | Gifts | T-Shirts | Sheet Music | Playlists | About


I hadn't even officially released A Tribute to Love when I started working on my next solo album–What Color Is Your Dragon? Folk Music with Delusions of Grandeur.

The album started when I realized I have a LOT of songs recorded that are not yet available on full-length albums. I listened to many of them and realized most were filk songs.

So I decided that would be the main focus of this album. I would compile a list of songs on a variety of Sci Fi/fantasy genres including: Lord of the Rings, Bugs Bunny, Firefly, Star Wars, Dr. Who, and Harry Potter. Added to that would be a few songs I wrote a long, long time ago (not necessarily in a galaxy far away) and a few new songs exploring new musical genres (blues, in particular).

The result is my latest album available in August 2008–What Color Is Your Dragon?. The album features 17 tracks of fun music that one fan compared to the Brobdingnagian Bards' chart-topping album, Brobdingnagian Fairy Tales.

That is kind of appropriate because the first song on the album, “Don't Go Drinking With Hobbits” was inspired by real-life event that happened several years ago at DragonCon when I went out drinking with hobbits and by the end of the weekend was so sick I had no voice to sing with. “The Virgin Diet” was a song inspired by another song popularized by The Bards called “Do Virgins Taste Better Medley“, as well as the fan-produced magazine that arose from that song, The Medieval Virgin.

I get a lot of emails from fans with song lyrics. Now and then some songs really stand out and I record them. “The Nazgul Song” and “The Lusty Young Sith” were written by fans who decided to parody songs played by Brobdingnagian Bards. The lyrics made me smile so much, I decided they had to be recorded.

Nevertheless, What Color Is You Dragon? has taken on a life of it's own as I dug into my experience to write most of these songs about some of my favorite Sci Fi and fantasy fandoms. This was a wonderful way to share my love of those fandoms in song. I am happy to share this album with you.

Oh! A special thanks to Nikki O'Shea, the Bards Comic artist, who beautifully designed the CD cover. I hope you enjoy the new album.

iTunes Amazon.com

Track Listing:

  1. Don't Go Drinking with Hobbits
  2. A Rabbit for Halloween
  3. Samwise Gamgee
  4. The Virgin Diet (How to Have Fun Losing Weight)
  5. How Do You Tell a Woman You're in Love with Her?
  6. Pleasant Peasant Pheasant Plucking Song
  7. She Said Her Name Was Saffron (Our Mrs. Reynolds)
  8. Monkeys Over Mongolia
  9. Lusty Young Sith
  10. For the Setting Sun
  11. If I Were a Horse
  12. The Last Chicken in Dublin
  13. Pig's Song
  14. I Saved the Planet Earth
  15. The Nazgul Song
  16. Gollum Blues
  17. My Father Was a Werewolf


Listen to it free online
Absolutely free. The complete CD. All 17 tracks. Completely free to listen to online.