Irish Drinking Songs: The Cat Lover’s Companion

All of the Original Irish Drinking Songs Parodied by the Irish Drinking Songs for Cat Lovers CD


Back in high school, I was huge fan of Weird Al. It was a natural progression because my dad was a fan of his comedic predecessors. When I grew up, he sang lots of comedic songs. He'd parody songs and write songs on the fly while playing his banjo. So it was natural for me to hear Weird Al's parodies and become a huge fan.

I bought Weird Al's albums and listened over and over again. But I had one small problem. Not all the songs were parodies. And those that were I wasn't entirely sure what the original songs were because I lost the cassette jackets or the jackets were incomplete. So in my senior year of high school, I made my own compilation tape featuring the Weird Al song, followed by the original version. It was neat to hear the differences.

It was this desire to hear the original that inspired me to record a new CD: Irish Drinking Songs: The Cat Lover's Companion CD. This album features all of the original songs found on my Irish Drinking Songs for Cat Lovers CD. You can hear how a song evolved from a fun Irish song into a purrfectly fun song about the cats we love.

While the production isn't nearly fancy as on Irish Drinking Songs for Cat Lovers, it still has all the energy and fun that you enjoy from that CD. All the music comes from my producer Ari Koinuma and Marc Gunn.

Buy CDs Buy MP3s
$15.00 CD + MP3s
$10.00 MP3s

Track Listing:

  1. Finnegan’s Wake
  2. Black Velvet Band
  3. When Irish Eyes Are Smiling
  4. The Moonshiner
  5. I’ll Tell My Ma
  6. Patriot Game
  7. Black Is the Colour
  8. Bonnie Ship the Diamond
  9. Gypsy Rover
  10. Wild Rover
  11. Barnyards of Delgaty
  12. Fiddler’s Green
  13. Lord of the Dance

Produced by Ari Koinuma. Photography by Marc Gunn, Kristen Roger, Nancy e. Pearsall. Celtic Cat Logo by Ingrid Houwers. Graphic Design by Molly C. Loar, James McDaniel II

Comments are closed.